shape
carat
color
clarity

I need some job hunting advice...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

glaucomflecken

Brilliant_Rock
Hey everyone, happy holidays!

Well I''m really struggling to find a job here in my new hometown. Ive searched for weeks/months on every job website, newspaper, hospital board, professional forum and job forum I know, and no luck. So my next step is to blindly send out my resume to every place in town in my field. I have never done this before, sent my resume/cover letter to a place that I dont even know is hiring for a position or not.

Are there any good resources out there on how to write a "blind" cover letter? Or does anyone have any good geneal job hunting advice for me? Wouldnt you know, no one I know has any connections here either.

Thank you!
34.gif

jcrow

Ideal_Rock
in my area & job field there weren''t lots of options. what i did was research each company a bit. find out what awards they won, what they are big on that sets them apart from the rest, and so on. then i did a standard cover letter. but, for each company i changed up the first paragrpah to make it unique and targeted using the info i learned.

i don''t know if it''s right or wrong- but that''s what i did. hope it helps.

GOOD LUCK!! it''s such a sucky position to be in= new in town isn''t any fun either.

glaucomflecken

Brilliant_Rock
Date: 12/22/2005 3:46:55 PM
Author: Virginia
I am just curious, what is your field? It might help with the responses!
28.gif

Hi Virginia,
I''m an optometrist. I''m also very particular about the clinical setting I work in, so its even harder for me here (of course all the jobs I really want are either back home, or in states I am not licensed to work in)

35.gif

Hest88

Ideal_Rock