shape
carat
color
clarity

I feel the earth....move....under my feet.....

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Kamuelamom

Brilliant_Rock
Holy smokes! We had 3 earthquakes tonight!! They weren''t too big but they scare me nonetheless. I''m scarred from the ones I went through as a child.
32.gif

AGBF

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have little experience with earthquakes; the ones I experienced in New England were very, very mild. Certainly the world is currently aware of the devastation an earthquake can wreak, however! Was your house built to certain specifications so that it will withstand earthquakes? (I know little about such construction; what I have heard is from friends in California.)

What *were* your experiences as a little girl?

Deb

Kamuelamom

Brilliant_Rock
Deb, here the building codes mainly specify provision for withstanding hurricanes. They seem to have forgotten that we live on an island where volcanoes are still very active, and earthquakes *will* happen.
33.gif

In ''73 I was a 5th grader and we were in the courtyard of our school watching a Beefeater''s concert. It was a glorious day. Then the earth began to shake. And rumble. I distinctly recall looking up at our cafeteria and seeing it swaying from left to right. My classmate was on her knees screaming and praying. It was chaotic for the moments during the shaking, but even moreso afterwards as we were all in shock and stunned. It was one of those that didn''t seem to end. It measured 6.2 on the richter scale.

Then came 1975 when we had an even bigger one. I was a middle schooler and this hit during the dark hours early in the morning. Big Island Earthquake record. My dad was out of town and my mom had to deal with her 3 remaining, very frightened children. My oldest sister had already moved away. We were on tsunami alert that day. I recall anticipating aftershocks for weeks on end.