shape
carat
color
clarity

Homemade skin remedies catch all thread

Snicklefritz

Brilliant_Rock
Hi all,

I thought I'd start a thread for homemade skin remedies that we've discovered and loved over the years. To keep things simple, please separately list the skin mallady/problem clearly, the remedy, and the result.

Please try to keep your suggestions to things you've actually tried and found successful, and things that are relatively benign/harmless for safety reasons.I'm no doctor and don't want to mislead anyone otherwise. :read: Please use your best judgement when trying suggested remedies, keep your allergies and medical histories in mind. Please check with your doctor on anything you're not sure about.
That said, here's my first suggestion:

Mallady/problem: Mild Acne

Remedy: Aspirin mask - crush 3 aspirin to a powder, add a quarter to a half teaspoon of water and a couple drops of honey (for moisture) and mix until a loose paste. Apply topicly, and gently massage into acne prone areas. Leave on for 10 minutes and rinse off. Can be left on longer if needed. I've slept in it before and experienced no ill effects.

Result: Dries blemishes so they recede or brings them to the surface for easy popping.

texaskj

Brilliant_Rock
Malady/problem: Feet covered with fire ant bites

Remedy: Vinegar, plain, white

Result: This was the only thing I got any relief from. My doctor refused to even see me or phone in a prescription for 2% cortisone.

monarch64

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Malady: canker sore inside mouth

Remedy: alum powder (spice aisle)

Result: dries up sore after minimal amount of "pickling" or stinging sensation.

Kelinas

Shiny_Rock
Malady: eczema (atopic and dyshrotic) also for allergic reactions to bug bites (fleas in my case)

Remedy: in a travel sized spritz bottle, mix half bottle (I guess like 3-5 TBS) of coconut oil, and about 8-10 drops of organic tea tree oil.
Shake shake shake it up (vigorously)
Wipe area with witch hazel and spritz on oil.