shape
carat
color
clarity

Flu shot? Does it help?

Tuckins1

Ideal_Rock
Hi all. My son and I got the flu last week (on Thanksgiving!) We both have been on Tamilflu- he is better, and I'm getting worse!! My we did not get shots this year, and I'm debating getting one when I'm all better. They say there are 4 strains of the flu this year, so we could potentially get it 3 more times! However, I have spoken with a few people who got the shot, and still got sick for over a month! The shot supposedly makes it so you have a much more mild case if you do get sick, but from what I've seen, it doesn't help much. Did you get a shot? Have you been sick? Would you go get one after being so terribly sick?

Snowdrop13

Ideal_Rock
Premium
The jab usually has around 3 strains in it to protect you from whatever's likely to be around. I've taken it for the past few years (I work in healthcare so it's recommended) and have never had any ill effects. I had flu once, several years ago prior to being offered the vaccine and do not want to experience it again, it was SO awful!

asscherisme

Ideal_Rock
I think it does help. My office use to offer it for free so before I had kids I would take it every year. Then when I left that job I continued to get it. The one year I did not get it 5 years I got an awful case of the flu the same time as all 4 of my kids! So I had to take care of them when I was sick myself. It was awful!

Since then, i drag all 4 of my kids and myself to the doctor each year for the flu shot. I havn't had the flu since, and only one of my kids got the flu 2 years ago but it was not as bad as previous flus. So yes, I absolutely thinks it helps.

The flu shot for my kids and self don't cost anything (they bill 100% to insurance) for me. When my son goes to college I will encourage him to get his flu shot at the school health clinic. My opinion its such a simple thing to do to avoid getting sick.

I hope you feel better. Being sick is the worst.