shape
carat
color
clarity

Do you mind the question, "What do you do?"

Smith1942

Ideal_Rock
Of course, it's a normal question in many contexts.

But what about in these contexts?

- Someone you met five minutes ago at a party. Or even seconds ago when first introduced. "This is Smith"/"Oh, hello Smith. What do you do?" Yes, this has happened.

- At the doctor's office. (Why, are you going to give me better care if I'm a lawyer rather than a road sweeper?)

- From teachers at your child's school, or on school enrollment forms.

- Misc - any situation where you have just met someone.

Yes, I know that asking someone's occupation is part of getting to know someone. But I'm talking about transient acquaintances whom you might never see again, or people that you have literally just met.

Personally? I think it's veiled rudeness in those situations. It's nosiness. What they're saying is, "How much money do you earn, how intelligent are you and how educated are you?"

It's also a way that people can put you in your box. Accountants are boring, nurses are caring, journalists are moral-free, etc etc.

I might start telling people I'm an embalmer. Or a maintenance mechanic with a travelling fairground.

Do YOU ever find this question nosy/unnecessary?

TooPatient

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have no problem with that question. I'm asked it routinely and have asked others also. It is part of getting to know a person. It also may be a thing you have in common or at least an area of interest that opens up conversations. It shows interest in the person.

If someone doesn't ask these "uncomfortable" questions then the conversation is likely to be deadly dull and superficial.
What's left?

Where are you from? -- nope.
What sort of work do you do? -- nope.
Do you have kids? -- Ooops. They are trying and having trouble. Or just had a miscarriage.
Did you see that episode last night? -- Oooops. They don't have a TV and think watching programs like that is a waste.