shape
carat
color
clarity

Any tips on hiring/using an interior designer?

anners11

Rough_Rock
Hi! So I'm breaking ground on my new house next week. Yay! It's a custom home that I've helped design and I've picked all of the finishes in the house so far. I have a few big things left like finalizing flooring and lighting. I have a pretty good idea of what I want for those, so I'm not worried about that. What I AM worried about are wall colors, rugs, furniture, mirrors, bedding etc. This is my dream house, my forever house. It has to be amazing. I have a good idea of the look and feel that I want in the house, I just have no clue how to go about getting it. I have realized that I am going to have to hire an interior designer. I've never used one before and don't really know how to go about the process. So any advice or experiences you might be willing to share would be greatly appreciated!

bebe

Ideal_Rock
anners, if there is a design center close to you, you can call and they can give you a list of designers that you could contact. Or contact a ASID chapter for a list. Chances are neither of these would make a recommendation. Is there a local magazine or publication where you could see some examples of their work. It's great you have a vision of what you like! Find pictures and have those ready to show rather than rely on just talking about the look. You might have to "interview" several designers before you find someone you click with. And you should discuss how they charge, it will likely vary. Some charge by the hour and extend a discount on furniture, some charge full price for goods and no hrly fee. I've seen all kinds of fee structures.

kgizo

Ideal_Rock
Premium