shape
carat
color
clarity

and the little one said roll over, roll over..but there was no more room

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Steel

Ideal_Rock
I have reached or about to reach a crisis point in my life and I am confused and a bit scared.

It is my dream to qualify as a Solicitor, I have wanted that for as long as I can remember.

This is the short version:

Ireland seems to be a very ''who you know'' type country. I know nobody. My family have not spoken to me in almost 10 years so I do not have any family connections.

To qualify you must pass entrance exams, obtain an apprenticeship, serve for two years (ish) while studying in Dublin (or now Cork) and hey presto you qualify.

I have worked my backside off since I was 15 to get the points required in my secondary school exams to get to study law to finally qualify as a solicitor and it seems to have been a big fat waste of time. I cannot get in.

I worked hard, I got my degree, I passed the entrance exams but nobody will give me an apprenticeship. I have looked since 2005 and nothing, not even a whiff.

It is breaking my heart. This is what I want to do and it come down to this. I cannot get in. So either I am not good enough or it is a private members club and I am not invited.

I am now no longer working (finished working as a legal secretary) and I feel like I am standing on the plank. I have three choices as I see it. A. Continue to search for the Holy Grail; which may not exist for me. B. Give up and get a job doing whatever. C. Go back any try to get another job as a legal secretary, take more crap and probably be no closer to an apprenticeship anyway.

DH is fully supportive but edging towards give it all up. The never-ending search and sound of proverbial slamming doors is sometimes unbearable and he only wants me to be happy.

What is a girl to do?

AmberGretchen

Ideal_Rock