shape
carat
color
clarity

Which spess should I buy?

ColoredStonesLady

Rough_Rock
After drooling over the "show your spessartite" thread :lickout: I'd really, really like to find a nice one under $1k. So far, I found the ones below. Should I get any of these or keep looking?? I realize $1k is not a lot of money. So a great color and half decent cut are my biggest priorities, not the search for perfection. :mrgreen: I'm very new to spessartite as a gem, so any advice would be great!

spessartite_3.64.jpg
3.64 carat Nambian from gemfix
http://www.gemfix.com/garnet_spessartite.html

thumb_38905.jpg
3.05 carat Nambian from Litnon
http://www.litnon.com/index.php?page=viewgem&id=9047

6-spess-oval2.jpg
6.1 carat Loliondo from rough2refined
http://rough2refinedgemstones.com/?page_id=2078 (halfway down the page)

spessartite_221.jpg
3.04 carat Nambian pair from gemfix
http://www.gemfix.com/garnet_spessartite.html
( my original dream was to have a pair of spess for earrings, but finding just 1 goof one is enough!)

PS I did pick up a fiery red Mahenge spinel and sphene from Mastercutgems. :naughty: And one great opal ring from a friend in London. Will post photos when I get a chance!

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
You know, it really comes down to the color you like. Some of the ones you've chosen are on the yellowish side and some more on the reddish end. The one that I would question from a cutting perspective is the Loliondo as it looks like it has a fair amount of extinction.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It's hard to tell which one is best because the top and bottom photos definitely look enhanced, and it's harder to compare different vendor photos for the rest. I would definitely at least skip the top one, it looks to be brownish.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It all depends on exactly what shade of orange you are looking to get:
1. Kind of brownish on my monitor.
2. A bit brownish yellowish but the picture is definitely not enhanced.