shape
carat
color
clarity

Which is better pink sapphire or pink topaz

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

eks6426

Ideal_Rock
I love the bright pink stones and was wondering which stone---pink sapphire or pink topaz have more sparkle to them? Any other bright pink stones out there?

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
I have a pink sapphire RHR and it''s very sparkly. I haven''t seen pink topaz lately. What about pink tourmaline?? It''s a bit deeper in color than pink sapphire.

Momoftwo

Brilliant_Rock
I have a 3 ct pink topaz rhr we bought in Nassau this past November while on a cruise. It''s very sparkly. I think the best thing to do is go compare stones in person.

eks6426

Ideal_Rock
I''d love to compare stones in person, but no one around me carries any of the options.

Tourmeline would be fine too. Just wondering the difference between all 3 stone types.

colormyworld

Brilliant_Rock
Hi IslandDreams. I am not an expert, but natural pink topaz is very rare. Most pink topaz is either surface treated or diffused some how. I don't think they are very durable. Sapphire is more durable with a higher refactive index. Spinel is another choice which IMO is the best choice because it seems to keep a better color in various lighting conditions and is all natural. Spinel is less expensive than sapphire also. ( I am partial to spinels though ) Hope this helps
Best regards Doug

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Sparkle has quite a bit to do with RI, the depth of color and the cut...

The RI order for the pinks I can think of now would be:

Sapphire 1.76
Grossular garnet (sort of pink?) 1.74
Spinel 1.72
Tourmaline 1.64
Topaz 1.63
Beryl (Morganite) 1.58
Kunzite (great, but the color is sensitive to light) 1.66
Quartz 1.55

(Note: there are slight variations in these numbers from source to source, and each type of stone comes with variations of RI, e.g. spinel is listed from 1.7 to 1.8)
34.gif