shape
carat
color
clarity

whats the fuss about jadeite

silky43

Rough_Rock
hi I am new to all this but it seems to me that jadeite is a complete waste of all the money. I agree it looks nice and is very rare but you can get a lot prettier gems for a fraction of the cost e.g. tourmaline. I know it is a different colour to many gems and has a nice glow but it is no match to many other gemstones out there.
can someone tell me what all the fuss is about and if there is some factor I missed.
thanks
silky43 :appl: :appl: :appl:

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I'm not a jade expert by any means, but it was once a very popular gem among the emperors of China, and there is some tradition among that.

Fine imperial green jade that is translucent is the material that is worth big money. Much jade is not anywhere near as valuable, but can be made into lovely objects nonetheless, and it's very durable material as well.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Good jadeite is very clear, almost glass-like but yet glows a deep emerald green. It is a colour that is difficult to describe. There are too many low quality jadeite in the market that makes one think that's all there is to jadeite. It is also more durable than most other coloured gemstones and can be worn 24/7 due to its fibrous internal structure.

silky43

Rough_Rock
TL|1395336960|3638024 said:
I'm not a jade expert by any means, but it was once a very popular gem among the emperors of China, and there is some tradition among that.

Fine imperial green jade that is translucent is the material that is worth big money. Much jade is not anywhere near as valuable, but can be made into lovely objects nonetheless, and it's very durable material as well.
thanks for the help
:appl: ;)) ;)) ;)) ;)) ;)) ;)) ;)) :appl: :appl: :appl: :appl: :appl:

treasurehunter

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
The toughest gem out there, the ancient chinese used to sharpen swords with it .