shape
carat
color
clarity

Topaz Christmas Gift Help Please!

MATT0404

Rough_Rock
Hello, everyone! I'm looking for some help finding a topaz gemstone for my wife's Christmas gift. My wife simply asked for jewelry for Christmas and Topaz is our 1 year old's birthstone, so I figured this would add sentimental value. I'm a complete newb when it comes to searching for quality topaz gemstones, I've done well with diamonds in the past but, topaz seems to have a huge price/quality variance.

I've decided I do not want clear or blue topaz, I would prefer "imperial" topaz. My budget would be somewhere in the $500-$750 range and I'm looking for the best value for my money. I tend to prefer quality to size but, again, I'm not familiar with what constitutes a "quality" topaz.

Can anyone recommend a reputable online dealer to buy from? I've visited a few sites like Litnon, AfricaGems, Clearcutgems, but prices seem to vary wildly for what looks like similar size, quality, and cut stones. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, everyone!

CirrusClouds

Rough_Rock
Trade
I love Imperial Topaz and I believe it's very under-rated in general. I love the golden tones. I personally consider an Imperial Topaz of "quality" should have an even dispersion of color throughout; no light spots or dark spots. An optimal cut for clarity as well. A good cut is a must in my opinion. I think the actual color is completely preference, but even color throughout the gem is what many prefer.

ephsea

Shiny_Rock
There is a lot of contention over what color constitutes "Imperial" topaz. Most sellers claim their goods are imperial :rolleyes: What matters is what color *you* want it to be, so if you can find a picture of a topaz that is your target color and post it here, we can be alot more helpful to you. The more red/pink there is in topaz, the more it costs, and the more likely it is to be labeled imperial.
You might also check out Mastercut gems and wsf gemstones.

MATT0404

Rough_Rock