shape
carat
color
clarity

Thoughts on spinel sourced from Las Vegas show

dori2002

Rough_Rock
I had a vendor look for a 3+ carat spinel while at the Las Veges show last week. These are the pictures he sent me. They said is was from Burma, and will cert if I like it. Probably will take a look at in person next week. The vender said it is an excellent stone, They want 3000.00 per carat.

spinel_15.jpg

_31001.jpg

_31002.jpg

_31003.jpg

tourma-guy

Shiny_Rock
Very pretty. I'm no expert on spinel pricing, but sounds kind of expensive.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Not the most saturated red spinel, more of a wine color. Does it fluor, how does it look in sunlight, fluorescent light, other lighting?

Acinom

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Beautiful stone with a very nice colour. I find it very expensive though...but I have very limited experience in colored stones.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Very expensive for the colour I see on my monitor.

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
What color are you looking for? If you are looking for a red red, this is not it and I would pass. Looks on the darker side with saturation that could be higher.

Lisa Loves Shiny

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I think the cut is a bit wonky too. For that price I am hoping you can do much better.

I was wondering if some of the members on PS might point out a good spinel for you Dori that is within this price range. They tend to find the best gems.

Arcadian

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Like everyone else, its pretty, but I see purple in this stone. (nothing wrong with it if thats your thing) I wonder if the price hike is for being burmese... I know that there's embargo on rubies and jade, but isn't everything else ok to import (anyone? Bueller?)

If the local is of great interest to you, make sure you get the right report for it to support what the vendor is telling you.

dori2002

Rough_Rock