shape
carat
color
clarity

SOS! sapphire help please. I really don't know!

MrsCornishWed

Shiny_Rock
Hi all. Am new! (as will come apparent in this post no doubt, total novice)

I am already a mrs. However, thanks to being duped by a highstreet chain here in the UK when my husband chose a ring and proposed (- neither of us knew anything at all about jewellery) we are now looking to replace my engagment ring. ( just incase any of you were interested, the reason we are replacing is because the integrity of the setting was comprimised during resizing, and the diamonds were a dirty, awful colour which became so obvious when we put it next to my wedding band, which we sourced in a little cove of jewellery we randomly stumbled across one day in someone's basement (think aladins cave) -second hand)

anyways. The jeweller/goldsmith i am using (small, independant) sourced me a few sapphires so i could find the colour I am looking for. These were less than a carat, and roughly around £250, we spoke about going over carat, how this equates in size and price and i set my budget around £600 for the stone. He thinks i'd get roughly a 6.5mm/ just over a carat round cut for this price.

However, I have found a seller on Etsy (i was looking for inspiration for a setting- but we'll get to that in a mo!) who is based in canada. he is a selling a few different sapphires in shades i like- offers a 10 day return, appraisals for free over $1000 or for an extra $40 under has excellent feedback etc. But I am very worried about buying online, and also whether I will incure charges, customs or the like when it enters the UK (?? anyone know??) But his prices seem *really* good .. when I asked, he says this is because he sells 'wholesale prices'

I have found two oval shaped mild blue sapphires both seem very good pricing. 1 is listed as a Ceylon blue sapphire precision cut by Rogerio Graca.
Great color, cut, clarity

weight: 1.50 ct
size: 7.5 x 5.9 mm oval
clarity: very good, eye clean