shape
carat
color
clarity

Sapphire experts?

lin_ny

Brilliant_Rock
Hello! Total newbie here... first post.

I've been snooping around these forums for a while now... getting e-ring ideas, learning about sapphires, etc. I'm looking for a few opinions on sizes, colour, setting, etc. so I can give my boyfriend the best idea of what I want and help him get the best value in an e-ring.

I'm definitely set on a cushion halo - basically exactly this ring: [URL='https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/maytal-hannah-sapphire-engagement-ring-experience.168600/']https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/maytal-hannah-sapphire-engagement-ring-experience.168600/..[/URL]. (so. freaking. gorgeous.). I love that its so delicate but also chunky and makes quite a statement. I'm wondering a few things - forgive me if some of these seem silly.

Do sapphires face up smaller than diamonds of the same carat weight?

What size cushion would give good coverage on a size 4.5-4.75 finger? (I think this is where my boyfriend is gonna save some money - I have tiny tiny fingers and very petite hands so I'm hoping we can get away with a smaller sapphire with the same "wow" factor). Based on this ring - [URL='https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/victor-canera-does-it-again-cushion-halo.172877/']https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/victor-canera-does-it-again-cushion-halo.172877/[/URL] - that's a 4.75 finger and a 1.75 diamond... although I don't love that halo setting the size of the stone compared to the setting looks right to me. That's why I'm wondering if a sapphire of the same size will face-up about that large - I know cut make such a difference too so it's always hard to say...