shape
carat
color
clarity

RUBIES ! price per carat, in rough form ??

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

dvldvl

Rough_Rock
Do any of you guys know an approximate price per carat for rough form uncut alluvial rubies? mixed package of 1,000 carats, 0.5-0.75, with about 100 carats of 1-5 carat stones

cant find out much, but a few people have said about $35 a carat wholesale for the whole bag ?? so $35,000 ??

a few of the larger carats once cut and polished would sell at retail for $1000-2000 a carat i think. although im no expert hence the question here :)

colorchange

Shiny_Rock
Trade
I forgot to mention : 0.5-0.75 Ct is very small for a rough, except if it has fine transparency, it's not worth much.
To give you a price quote, I regularly buy lots of 0.1 to 0.2 Ct VVS brillant cur sapphire and rubies, pink sapphires will be worth a few dollar each, 0.15 Ct round brillant cut ruby will be worth around $20 in finest qualities.

If the rubies are standard quality Madgascar alluvial rubies (ie medium to fine red, translucent or very included) they are worth very very little.

strmrdr

Super_Ideal_Rock
colorchange sounds like he knows more about it than I do but it sounds like a run of the mine lot to me.
Whats left after all the best/valuable goods are removed and sold by themselves.
Unless your an absolute expert dont do it.
From my readings these lots will be picked up by the mass cutting houses under contract if they are worth cutting.
So the question becomes why is it being offered to you?
My guess would be its fish tank gravel quality at best.

colorchange

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Hi,

I do not know what you are willing to do with those rubies, but $35/CT uncut wholesale for such size is yet serious quality.
As you you seem not in the business, let me tell that to you : absolute bargain do not exist, each item has it's value and you can't expect to buy much below.