shape
carat
color
clarity

questions about Alexandrite

gemgirl59

Rough_Rock
Trade
Hello, I am new to learning about and buying gemstones, already have my favorites, as I am sure you all do. I am interested in alexandrite, but read SOOOO much conflicting information about them, their value, etc. I am at a loss who else to ask and why I should believe them? What color is an alexandrite??? I read and believed, up until yesterday, LOL, that alexandrites are color change stones that go from green to red, depth of color varying. I surf the web, looking at examples of gem stones I have interest in and keep seeing "GIA certified Natural Alexandrite" purple stones that change to blue with 5 digit prices...no hint of green or red? Really? Help me out here, but that sounds like maybe a color change sapphire......very confused...........

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Purple to blue sounds like the alexandrite simulant, which is synthetic colour change sapphire.

This is a very good read and should answer most of your questions:
http://www.alexandrite.net/chapters/

gemgirl59

Rough_Rock
Trade
Thanks, I am reading the stuff you posted for me! Still, about this particular alexandrite ring for sale online, the certificate says turns from blue/green to gray/purple, so I guess it has some green to qualify, but for the $24,000. price tag, figured it would be an unmistakable rich green to red. I bought a few alexandrites and am VERY pleased at the clarity and distinct medium green color they are. If there is that much fraud regarding these gemstones, I wondered if I could even make jewelry with them and be able to sell them at all without proper id/appraisal documentation. The company I purchased them from offer appraisals, but declined, thinking a third party with no relationship with the sale of the gems would be a better choice. Your input would be very appreciated.....

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I'd never buy an Alexandrite without a grading report from AGL.