shape
carat
color
clarity

Question about price for Parti-Sapphire round cut?

Jajabis

Rough_Rock
Hello all,

I'm looking into a colored gem-stone to be in the setting for my gf's engagement ring. I've found a gem of my liking that is a Parti-Sapphire round cut 1.97 ct. The color doesn't show zoning, but is a unique blue/green sky color that matches my gf's eyes. I know color play's a major factor, but let's say it's the perfect color for me but for some it's a middle of the range. What would it go for? The round cut is flawless with zero intrusion's from what i can tell under eye and 10x.

I'm not a expert, that's why i'm asking on here!

Thanks for the help.

lkredhat

Rough_Rock
I'm a little confused. Are you asking what this gem should cost? (with so few specs, hard to say) Or are you asking if you should get a blue-green gem even if blue-green isn't the most popular color for this gem?

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
1. Did she ask specifically for a blue green ring? How do you know she'd want to wear a blue green ring 24/7 for the next 50 years? Just because you like it doesn't mean that she does too, especially as a engagement ring stone.

2. Any mixture of colour is considered zoning, so yes, technically, a parti or bi-coloured is considered zoned. However, when the demarcation is clean and obvious, it is more prized than random zoning.

3. Please post pictures of the item. Without pictures, it is akin to asking would you buy this red car? It's the perfect colour and has no dents but we are missing all the necessary information to tell you whether we would and why.

deskjockey

Brilliant_Rock
It's pretty hard to give you an idea without seeing it. I have a blue-green sapphire but the color is uniform throughout (not a "parti" and no zoning I can see). How dark/light the stone is and the quality of the cut plays in as well.

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium