shape
carat
color
clarity

Paraiba Tourmalines

Tanzigrrl

Brilliant_Rock
Hi, All,
I may have an opportunity to purchase a paraiba tourmaline. I'm studying for my GG so I know a little bit about them, but most of my knowledge is "textbook." Does anyone have any good advice as to how to choose one? I'm meeting with a vendor who is a partner of a dear friend of mine.
Thanks in advance

iLander

Ideal_Rock
I don't think this it's much of an "opportunity", you have an "opportunity" to purchase paraiba, all day, every day, on the internet. This is not a once in a lifetime event. If you think that, then you have a false sense of urgency that makes you buy in a rush, without due consideration.

The association with a dear friend will work down your sales resistance as well. What if you don't buy anything at all? Will you feel guilty that your friend will be angry/disappointed? Better downplay this now with a lot of "just looking", "just curious" remarks. Lower their expectations of your purchasing.

You are walking into it, big time. :errrr:

Check out pricing for Paraiba from our favorite PS vendors and don't pay more than that. That's my advice.

Here's some paraiba:

http://www.litnon.com/index.php?page=view&cat=150

http://www.precisiongem.com/html/html/ParaibaTourmaline.html

I suspect that since you're having a "meeting" the seller is already seeing dollar signs. :$$): Please report back afterward so we can all laugh at his (I bet you) outrageous prices.

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ok, so apologies if I just reiterate what you know but this is what I look for:-

1. Colour colour colour! It has to scream. No compromises.

2. The gemstone must glow and have a neon quality. Good ones look almost synthetic because they glow so bright!

3. Make sure that if you buy one it's conditional on a reputable lab report.