shape
carat
color
clarity

Padparadscha help

susan_a

Rough_Rock
Im a newbie to the forum, but I have been a long time reader.

I have been searching for a padparadscha sapphire to set in a custom ring for about 6 months and I am really struggling so I thought I would reach out to the PS community to see if anyone can help me find the right stone, and to get some feedback on the two stones my local jewellers have presented me with so far as being 'padparadschas' - I'm not convinced, but I also haven't seen any other padparadscha stones in person before.

I'm looking for:
- 3cts or less
- cushion / oval / emerald cut
- pinkish-orange (I'm not a fan of the brownish or really orange pads)
- heated or unheated (no other treatment)

I am a huge fan of Saracen's and TravelingGal's pads if that provides any guidance as to the colour mix and saturation that I am after.

The added complication is that I am in Australia, so I am not expecting to be able to see US / Canada based stones in person, but our international post is so expensive I have to be reasonably sure before I commit to buying one even if there is a returns policy.

Can anyone help?

_26090.jpg

_26091.jpg

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Blech. I sincerely doubt the second one would be considered a padparadscha by any self-respecting lab due to the brown. The first looks to be a pretty stone, but at least in these photos, it looks more like a light tone, lightly saturated pink sapphire more than a true pad. It is also hard to tell if it has a window or whether thats a product of the tilt its on (is it a shallow stone?).