shape
carat
color
clarity

Need advice on how to cut this Rough Spinel

iambernard45

Rough_Rock
Trade
Hi PSer! Firstly, I would like to briefly introduce myself as it is my first time to create a post here. My name is Bernard, I have been interested in gemstone for 4 years and started collecting them. I often check out other member posts and have been enjoying reading them. Enough about me, I don't think you are interested in other unimportant stuff about myself . Let's get back on topic. ;-)

Recently, I have just got my hand on a lovely rough Pinkish Red Spinel. The size is 29.88ct. I have totally zero experience with rough and bought this just purely attracted to the sweet color, what I would call an impulsive buy. I showed to a few friends and they are concerned with the cracks by side, color as well as stone shape. Ok, here are some of the shots I take. Hope I can get some insights on this piece before cutting. Any input is well appreciated, Thank you very much.

AND Here's the video
http://youtu.be/15xaVCyTgZw

spinel_29.jpg

spinel_29_1.jpg

spinel_29_2.jpg

spinel_29_3.jpg

spinel_29_4.jpg

LoversKites

Brilliant_Rock
Unfortunately I know nothing about faceting rough but wooow that colour is pretty!!

mastercutgems

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Hello :wavey:

It looks like a very nice piece of rough...

If it were me that was getting ready to cut it; I would do as you are doing and shine the light in to see any fractures or flaws. I take a sharpie or similar very fine point felt marker and draw out my inclusions/fractures. Then I look at the shape; depth to width ration of 75% to get a brilliant cut. Then I decide on the shape and unless it is some odd-ball shape I usually let the gem dictate the cut. It looks like an oval or pear from the crack and original shape; but all that can change when you outline the issues.

I hope that helps; some :)