shape
carat
color
clarity

Mahenge spinels set into studs...

katharath

Ideal_Rock
I'm trying to focus on setting more of my favorite loose gems, so I just had my mahenge rounds set. (Gems sourced by Yvonne Raley, she also handled the setting for me).

I had them set in 14k yellow gold double prongs. This is a style I've never used before, but liked for this pair. I didn't want a bezel setting to darken these up at all; so I thought this was a good setting to give a bit of extra presence but without resorting to using a bezel. (I actually adore bezel settings but I really wanted to do what was best for the gems, KWIM?)

The tcw for this pair is just under 1 ct; so approx .5 ct per earring. It's actually a nice size for studs, IMO - it's the size range I personally prefer :) The gems alone/loose are just shy of 5 mm each.

About the color - these are from the special parcel Yvonne got some months back; they're from rough found in 2007, and they are much more reddish than pink. I had a very hard time getting accurate pics - none of the pics really get the sparkle that these have. I think many of the pics make them look pinker than they are. I'm just going to include a bunch of pics to give an idea of the range. These really aren't "shifty" gems, but they do look pinker or redder depending on how much sunlight gets to them. (All pics taken in sunlight). I will say that overall, the pics that make them look pink aren't as accurate to how they look IRL. The pics where they look super red are closer. But the true color is probably in between, while being closer to the red color.

_11996.jpg

_11997.jpg

_11998.jpg

_11999.jpg

dk168

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Beautiful colour, thanks for sharing!

DK :))

katharath

Ideal_Rock
I also got a little pair of tsavs too (from Yvonne, in the same package as the studs). Pics just for fun...

They're 4 mm rounds, I'm not sure what my plans are for them just yet. Pretty little things though.

_12007.jpg

_12008.jpg

_12009.jpg