shape
carat
color
clarity

Info on antique ring please!

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Since there are more CSers familiar with antique rings recently, I decided to post my heirloom ring here in hopes of getting more information about it. My mother passed it down to me recently and said it was passed down to her from her grandfather. It is clearly worn and used to have a gorgeous patina but my local jeweller decided to make it look shiny new again when all I asked for was to fix a broken shank. :angryfire: There are no visible hallmarks but I suspect this to be at least 22kt gold. As you can tell, some prongs are almost worn away completely. Can anyone guess the approximate age and whatever else bit of nugget to share?

And yes, I know I'm not a good photographer so excuse the blurry pictures.

antique_0.jpg

antique_4.jpg

antique_5.jpg

distracts

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ooooh, it's very pretty! I am no expert, but it looks to be from the very late 1800s to me. The little checkerboard bit on the side reminds me of representations of thistles, except it's way too skinny and not-thistley.

And Chrono, being "not a good photographer" doesn't excuse the lack of a face-on shot! :razz:

enbcfsobe

Brilliant_Rock
Chrono|1418392398|3800022 said:
Since there are more CSers familiar with antique rings recently, I decided to post my heirloom ring here in hopes of getting more information about it. My mother passed it down to me recently and said it was passed down to her from her grandfather. It is clearly worn and used to have a gorgeous patina but my local jeweller decided to make it look shiny new again when all I asked for was to fix a broken shank. :angryfire: There are no visible hallmarks but I suspect this to be at least 22kt gold. As you can tell, some prongs are almost worn away completely. Can anyone guess the approximate age and whatever else bit of nugget to share?

And yes, I know I'm not a good photographer so excuse the blurry pictures.