shape
carat
color
clarity

Impulsive Purchase - Welo Opal

BWise

Brilliant_Rock
Came across this and was totally attracted by the color play. I made an offer and it was accepted! I know nothing about those opals. Please do share your thoughts. There is a video at this link:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/131473903182

01043602.jpg

Acinom

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am not an expert on opals but the photo looks amazing!

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It's impossible to tell what this will look like in real life unfortunately. Opals either photograph really badly OR they can be made to look magnificent by various lighting and camera tricks. Taking a photo on a black background always enhances the colour BUT that's not to say this one doesn't have a good colour play. It probably does. Don't worry about it and just wait for the mail man to deliver! Think to yourself "this is going to be awful and a waste of money" and then when you open the package it'll probably blow your socks off! ;))

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I hope it is as pretty in real life as it appears in vendor's images. :))

BWise

Brilliant_Rock
LD|1430157695|3868497 said:
Think to yourself "this is going to be awful and a waste of money" and then when you open the package it'll probably blow your socks off! ;))

That's a nice strategy!

Did you check out the video? I thought it is much harder to "PS" the video than pictures and this one looks alive in video.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have not purchased opals lately because 1) they're dying them quite a bit, as the darker background helps the colorplay and 2) in Welo opals, the color play can sometimes disappear as the stone becomes dehydrated so to speak and 3) I've seen Welo opals where the color play goes away in some lighting.

Therefore, be aware of these things when buying an opal, in particular a Welo. Good luck and I hope it meets your expectations.

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
yingh|1430165567|3868574 said: