shape
carat
color
clarity

How to find the best purple spinel???

amethystdreamer

Rough_Rock
I need help. PLEASE...looking for a purple spinel for an engagement ring. I am new to this stone but think it is beautiful. I would love a round or cushion cut around 3 carats. How do I tell if the color saturation and can you recommend a gem dealer. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I keep seeing this website and there are so many savvy gem owners on here. I am impressed and look forward to hearing from you!

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock
Finding a purple spinel above 3 carats will be difficult. Have you searched all the vendors on the "recommended vendors" list that is stickied?

Also, could you post the color you are looking for?

There is an oval here. I know you are looking for a round or cushion, but this is over 3 carats, and is priced at $995. If you are interested in it, you may want to have it sent to you to see it in person.
http://www.gemfix.com/spinel.html
It might be dark in hand, but it's best to judge in person.

Have you seen spinels in person? They can look icy. If you are looking for something warmer, you may want to open your search to sapphires.

spinel_12.jpg

VirginiaZee

Shiny_Rock
OTL said:
It's going to be really difficult to find a 3ct nice purple spinel that isn't greyish or dark...

OP, if you can post some photos of the color purple you're looking for, that will help us recommend some gems.

amethystdreamer

Rough_Rock
I'm a little flexible with the color. I have seen some purple with bluish and some purple pinkish that I like. I mostly want to make sure the color is deeply saturated and doesn't look like an amethyst. I am looking for something unique...

Thank you for your answers and willingness to help me!

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock
What are you opinions of the two stones suggested. We want to help and we need feedback.

Also, have you looked for stones at all the vendors listed in the stickied thread?

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium