shape
carat
color
clarity

Help/ advice for light toned sapphire setting

Siggy

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

First of all, let me preface this question by saying I’m really new to all this and still learning about gemstones, so please excuse my ignorance.
I’m on the hunt for an oval cut peach-pink sapphire or spinel, of light to med tone (similar colour to morganite). I would plan to set in a custom rose gold engagement ring.
Most of the peach-pink rings I can find online (for inspiration) are set in a halo of diamonds. Although I can see that this sets of the sapphire beautifully, I’m more attracted to a solitaire style with an open (prong) setting, with the band (and perhaps the basket) set in diamonds. I can’t find many examples of sapphires/ spinels in these open solitaire settings and I’m wondering why.
Is it because the gemstone needs to be relatively big and near flawless to pull off an open, solitaire setting? Do paler stones need some contrast with skin tone? Or is it simply because halos are trending at the moment?
I’d be really ecstatic if I could find something in the range of 10 x 7mm, which I understand is quite big, however, please let me know if this is unrealistic. The colour is more important if I have to compromise between the two.
I’m completely new to this and based in Australia, so it’s not economical for me to order a ton of gems freely to inspect and return, but I’m trying to research to ultimately buy something online.

Has anyone done a similar setting with a lighter toned sapphire or am I on a fruitless search? What do I need to be aware of when ordering lighter toned sapphires or spinels?

I’m not on any timeframe to find the right stone and my budget is fairly flexible, although I will steer clear of any certified pad prices. Heated stones are fine. Thanks in advance for any advice/ tips you might have :)

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
There are several reasons for the halo: