shape
carat
color
clarity

Does Metal Matter for Stone Type?

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
First, please forgive such a fundamental question which has probably been asked and answered many times over here (only I don't remember seeing an answer).

I have three round green garnets that I am looking to set in rings. For these stones, I am drawn to art deco type settings like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Antique-Certified-1ct-Diamond-Platinum-Art-Deco-Engagement-Ring-/201212221890?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2ed92ed9c2

My question is can I set grossular and demantoid garnets in platinum? Is there any rule of thumb with respect to a gem's hardness and type of metal to be used? I've been looking at antique settings on ebay and thinking that I could buy one and replace the diamond with one of the garnets. I am a total amateur when it comes to setting stones. Anything I need to know about?

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
minousbijoux|1415558595|3780179 said:
First, please forgive such a fundamental question which has probably been asked and answered many times over here (only I don't remember seeing an answer).

I have three round green garnets that I am looking to set in rings. For these stones, I am drawn to art deco type settings like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Antique-Certified-1ct-Diamond-Platinum-Art-Deco-Engagement-Ring-/201212221890?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2ed92ed9c2

My question is can I set grossular and demantoid garnets in platinum? Is there any rule of thumb with respect to a gem's hardness and type of metal to be used? I've been looking at antique settings on ebay and thinking that I could buy one and replace the diamond with one of the garnets. I am a total amateur when it comes to setting stones. Anything I need to know about?