shape
carat
color
clarity

Color blind and bad eyesight need help buying sapphire, plz

James_K

Rough_Rock
Hello All,
I'm new to PS and also relatively new to buying gems and I'm hoping I can get some feedback on my potential purchase. With a little help, I know I can overcome my sketchy and slightly colorblind eyesight and present my [hopefully] future wife with a beautiful sapphire engagement ring. Please feel free to give feedback on ANY part of my post, Im open to ALL suggestions. :D

After doing a little research Ive narrowed my search down to a stone that looks something like this.......
Cushion cut, fairly symmetrical (square), 6.5-7mm (Im guessing this would be around 2 ct or more), excellent bright color that is neither terribly dark nor very light (is this called vivid?), and something that catches your attention from across the room. As for clarity and enhancements (treatments), I am open to suggestions here since I am not sure how much these affect the look of colored gems and their prices.

In the past, Ive been comforted by legitimate certifications so that would be a HUGE plus and I tend to be a value shopper. Im NOT cheap but I appreciate buying something for less than its value. haha
Here is an example of one that Ive been looking at but I'm not sure on the quality of the stone or of the company.

http://www.gemsny.com/loose-sapphires/2.44-Carat-Cushion-Sapphire-SU1549ACU/

Any feedback on this stone, the company (other website suggestions are more than welcome), or anything else in this post would be awesome. Also, if you have seen any stones that match my desired description, please let me know.

Thanks for all your help. This site and its members are awesome!!!!

michellechan2211

Shiny_Rock
Re: Color blind and bad eyesight need help buying sapphire,

EDIT: Apparently colored stone reports cannot be pulled out.

Anywho, just a few comments from a self admitted amateur: