shape
carat
color
clarity

Ceylon sapphire help

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

michela002

Shiny_Rock
I am an extreme newbie to coloured stones, looking for some help. I passed a jewellery store and saw (and tried on) the most beautiful ring, that I am considering as an e-ring. (Well, not the one I saw because it was $18,000, but getting something custom made to look similar to it.)

It was an emerald cut (square-ish emerald cut) ceylon sapphire, a beautiful medium icy blue, with two tapered baguette diamonds on the sides (as depicted in the sketch below.)

The centre stone (the ceylon sapphire) was 2.75 carats (I understand though that sapphires as heavier than diamonds, so that makes 2.75 in sapphire smaller than 2.75 would be in diamond?) and the side stones were a total weight of 0.73 carats.

I would LOVE something like this for my engagement ring. But I have been researching diamonds, and the idea of now having to research sapphires is giving me a headache!
14.gif

Can anyone recommend an online jeweller/coloured stone site I could trust to source the type of diamond I want? I want to say to someone, "I want an emerald cut ceylon sapphire, this type of colour, but not dull and lifeless like coloured glass, but one that flashes blue and sparkles, of weight in this range ..." etc and have them source one for me, and say here''s your stone.

Any recommendations? Am I dreaming to think that''s how it works?
3.gif
Or a site recommended to look at?

Also, any ideas of what the centre sapphire would run (approximately)?

ceysaphsketches.jpg

michela002

Shiny_Rock
This is *similar* to the colour I saw

B125_1_th

Medium ... icy blue, not dark navy-ish blue.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It''s just a bad case of discrimination that lighter color sapphire is not priced as high as the deeper tone. Aren''t they just great !
2.gif