carat
color
clarity

Calling All Ruby Experts

Mikla

Shiny_Rock
Premium
Hi guys!

I'm searching for an unheated ruby. What are your thoughts on stones from Winza? They apparently are larger stones having better clarity than Mong Hsu but may be orange/red or purple/red. Apparently there is less iron in them that Thai stones but much more iron in them than stones from Burma and Mozambique. What impact does that have other than having less fluorescence? I have found one that I like. It's silky and has some fluorescence and is moderately included. I see red, pink, and blue/purple in it though the vendor says there is no zoning.

If you know the name of the vendor, please don't post it here. What do you guys think?

vrr339-bb.jpg

vrr339-bm.jpg

vrr339-bs.jpg

vrr339-bs2.jpg

liao

Shiny_Rock
I am not a ruby expert, but $15025 is too expensive for ruby of this quality. The color is not saturated. I would rather call this stone pink sapphire than ruby. The cutting is not that good either. The pavilion is quite 'fat'. The 'blue' zoning is quite common in winza 'ruby'. try to look for Mozambique ruby. Please correct me if I am wrong, but the iron content of ruby responsible for the 'glowing' characteristic of ruby under short UV light.

Once again, I am not ruby expert. Ruby is not my cup of tea

Niel

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
To my eye that looks like a pink sapphire.

But I won't comment further as I'm no expert either.

MJO

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
In Burma it is considered a female ruby which is much lighter than a male one.

eastjavaman

Shiny_Rock
It is a lighter tone than what is considered "Ideal" but in ruby there are variances in reports from lab to lab about the standard of what is considered ruby and what is considered pink sapphire; hence, ultimately not the beauty, but the price difference becomes the matter.
In the picture, this stone might still be considered a ruby. Of course if you can argue it to be pink sapphire, more discount for you.