shape
carat
color
clarity

Ahem... I finally post pictures

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I am not very good at taking gem pictures, so I always put off posting pictures of my pretties. Well, this afternoon I decided it was time to catch up on my PS picture debt. I spent quite a while taking pictures in the late afternoon of an overcast day. These will also go on my gem inventory (Access database with all available data). Of course, I am nowhere near done picture taking, but I will post more as I go along.

So, first off and in no particular order, an amethyst, around 2.5 carats and a little light silk, which pretty much eliminates extinction.

ldps_amethyst.jpg

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Another picture. This was from a gem shop, with a healthy markup
5.gif
but it saved me several hours of looking through badly cut, badly coloured stones to find a nice one.

psld_amethyst2.jpg

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade
This is one of my favourite pink tourmalines: it is very saturated pink, with just a tinge of lavander in some lights. It is a native cut with no window, but something of a bowtie. The bowtie is actually a reflection of the person viewing the gem, which can be interesting. 10mm by 6mm. I am unsure of the carat weight and my current scale is only good for 0.5cts increments (not a gem scale!).

ldps_favpinktourm1.jpg

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Another picture of the same tourmaline.

psld_favouritepinktourm2.jpg

sleepyspinel

Shiny_Rock
That design is so modern and sleek, very very cool
36.gif
Can''t wait to see what you do with your custom cut sleepy spinel ;-) BTW what kind of metal is the stone set in?

Date: 7/26/2009 6:13:18 PM
Author: Lady_Disdain
5.gif
but it saved me several hours of looking through badly cut, badly coloured stones to find a nice one.

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade