shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice please? Choosing which stones for eternity ring

abbyful

Rough_Rock
Trade
I am getting an eternity ring from ID Jewelry. It will be my wedding band, so I want it to hold up.

This is the ring, except in platinum and with different colored stones: http://www.idjewelryonline.com/product_ ... ts_id=2470
They sent me price quotes for both green garnets and green sapphires.

I had originally thought I wanted tsavorite, but was told by a few people here on PriceScope that it's too soft for everyday wear especially with small baguettes.

Are green garnets hard enough for everyday wear? Or should I go with green sapphires? (Sapphires increase the ring price $200-$300)

Kismet

Ideal_Rock
Tsavorites are green garnets. I would want to see what they have (or can provide) for green sapphires since they're usually a more olive green than a bright green.

JewelFreak

Ideal_Rock
Green is a difficult color for a daily-wear wedding ring. I'm no expert but the only stone hard enough that I can think of is the sapphire & Kismet is right, they don't have the emerald-like green of a tsavorite. I can't think of any gem where you would get that in addition to the scratch, chip & crack resistance you need. Do any other colors appeal to you? The ring you've picked out is a lovely design.

--- Laurie

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
A tsavorite falls under the category of green grossular garnet, so no, a green garnet is not durable enough for everyday wear. I’m afraid your only option is green sapphires in this case. I also agree with the other posters that green sapphires are typically olive-y and less attractive in colour than tsavorite.

abbyful

Rough_Rock
Trade
She mentioned the sapphires would look the same as the garnets, so does that mean they are probably treated in some way to intensify the color?

Here's my inspriation photo I found online:
bands.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium