shape
carat
color
clarity

advice on buying this sapphire

Pooley

Rough_Rock
hi there,
new to the forum, be kind to me! This is my first attempt to buy a sapphire loose, I really like the paler, cornflower type blue sapphires and want to get this made up into a pendant. I don't wish to spend over £200 which I know is fairly limited. I was left a small amount in a will and would like this to go on a nicely coloured stone, sapphire perfect being my birthstone.

I've seen this stone, the colour looks lovely on the picture and it looks pretty clean.

http://www.multicolour.com/detail/?-1652357602

sorry i don't know how to put the picture on directly.

I've googled around and the supplier seems to have a good reputation round and about.

is there anything i should be aware of before going ahead? This purchase is purely sentimental

thank you for any comments you would care to share!

Caroline

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Well, I am going to state the obvious before someone else does - that has a huge window.

MC.com is a very reputable vendor.

Pooley

Rough_Rock
Thanks TL. As I say, I'm new to all this and want to learn a bit more, I've read about windowing, and the negative effect on the stone's colour and sparkle, but to be honest I'm not sure I can tell from the picture - can you tell me what makes it so obvious in this stone? It will help me when looking for others.

also, the link to the vendor takes me to an engineering company !

cheers,

LoversKites

Brilliant_Rock
By MC.com, TL meant multicolour.com :tongue:

As for windows. Its a dead area in the centre. An area you can see right through, and can't see the facets clearly. If you put text behind the stone, you'd be able to read through it. A window results in less light reflected back (less brilliance) and can affect the saturation of colour.

First pic shows a windowed vs well cut stone.
In the second I used my amazing editing skills to outline the window in the sapphire you have your eye on. :cheeky: