shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice for e-ring custom setting with peach sapphire

dknorris

Rough_Rock
Hello PSers!

This is my first post and I have to say, before I start, that I've really enjoyed learning about colored gemstones and seeing what a great community this is!
I wanted to get some feedback on a custom e-ring design for myself since I'm a novice at all this.
I have narrowed it down to two designs and I'm so undecided but I'm hoping your thoughts can steer me in the right direction.
The center stone (which I have not yet purchased) will be a peachy champagne sapphire or spinel around 2ct. I have attached a few photos of some stones that have caught my eye just for their color alone.
Here are the options:

Option 1) A diamond halo setting with a flat reversed split shank in satin finish rose gold to be paired with eternity wedding bands front and back. I could not find an image that showed this but I have the image for the inspiration of this design (see below)
Reasons I love this: the stacked look, the simplicity, it is unique
Concerns: will it get damaged/scuffed up too easily? Will satin finished rose gold be good for this design aesthetically?

Option 2) A diamond halo setting with a thin shank with micro pave(?) see sketch below. Please note - the highlighted pink areas in the sketch are being considered for rose gold but it is optional so I am not dead set on doing that.
Reasons I love this: it is sweet and feminine and sure to sparkle

What are your opinions on these setting options for said stone?

peachsapphire.jpg

spinel_341.jpg

_34802.jpg

custom_0.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Stone first, then setting design. You could end up with a different cut or different dimensions when you fall hard for a stone unexpectedly. You can custom fit a setting to the stone but it is multiple times harder to find a stone to fit the setting.

dknorris

Rough_Rock
Oh, bummer. I guess I was getting ahead of myself from the excitement. :bigsmile: