shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice for a newbie

gem_newbie

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

So I'm new to the gem game. After some difficult personal circumstances recently, I decided to get a morganite ring designed to remind me of getting through tough times.

I began trying to source morganite (I'm UK based so I'm struggling to find places to buy), and then became interested in starting to collect gems.

I haven't really got a clue where to start, but started looking at inexpensive stones as a starting point. If a post a few pictures, I wondered if you'd be so kind as to critique so I can start to learn what look for.

First - danburite. Two different stones.

image_2408.jpg

image_2410.jpg

Second up - kunzite

image_2411.jpg

Any feedback on positives/negatives of these would be great. Feel like I've got a lot to learn!

Thanks

gem_newbie

Rough_Rock
One other thing I meant to add - if anyone in the UK has any recommendations as to where to buy, I'd be forever grateful!

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

gem_newbie

Rough_Rock
Thanks for your reply - they're from a company that I know is not a rip off merchants (researched and definitely real stones) I'm just not sure about the quality. All these above are around £30 each so not expensive, I'm not looking for perfection at this price just more to learn what to look for

Thanks

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
My comment was more geared towards the accuracy of the gem as shown, not that the gem isn't real. Because the stones are photoshopped onto the tweezers, I have no clue as to what they look like in person. Even though the stones are not expensive, I recommend that you do a lot of reading and learning first before spending/buying. This will save you a lot of money in the long run; a few stones here and there can add up to a lot of money by the time you decide you are ready for your first serious gemstone.

gem_newbie

Rough_Rock