shape
carat
color
clarity

Are you changing your name?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

flopkins

Ideal_Rock
I swear there was a thread on this before, but now I can''t find it, and I''m feeling lazy so here''s a new one!

What have/are you gals doing?

This is a subject of much contention between FI and I; he wants me to change my name, I don''t want to. The reason I don''t want to is because I''m a phD graduate student, and I really want my maiden name on that diploma!! I''ve been working for my degree so many years, I will definitely be graduating after we''re married- but I feel a lot of ownership over my name and my work as a graduate student, I want my own name on there!

However, I don''t care much if people call me "Mrs. simpotun" etc... in fact, socially, I don''t think I would mind much at all... I think for now we have compromised - I will consider legally changing my name after my graduation, at which time I can reevaluate how I feel...
33.gif
33.gif

Bagpuss

Brilliant_Rock
Some don''t, some do
In the end, it''s up to you.
9.gif

You won''t be any less married whatever people call you.
21.gif

JessesGrl

Brilliant_Rock
I have such mixed feelings....He has such a pretty last name "Kelly" and I have a very ethnic italian first and last name (first name is Pia)....it does not really go but all my life I have always been assumed to be 100% italian and actually my dads mother was from cork, ireland...so I guess I will finally have my irish last name!

JCJD

Brilliant_Rock
I''m also working on a doctorate, and I''m going to change my name legally and hyphenate it professionally. You can definitely legally change your name but keep your maiden name professionally, but I''m not sure if your university will put your maiden name on your diploma if it''s not your legal name. You could just change your name legally after you graduate...
31.gif

elepri

Brilliant_Rock