shape
carat
color
clarity

Another last name problem

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

hikerchick

Brilliant_Rock
Hey everyone,

It has been forever since I have posted . . . life has been very very hectic but I have been occasionally lurking.

So, I was reading the thread about announcements and invitations and have a slightly more complicated version of the same problem.

I have my PhD and hence am Dr.hikerchick, however, FI never went to college (he did graduate HS). This has been an issue for my parents since the start and though they have come around to accepting my decision to marry FI and they see the love and joy between us, it is still a bit of a "sticky" situation. Most of the time I downplay my degree so as not to draw any further attention to the "imbalance" in our education. However, I am not changing my last name, for numerous personal reasons and professional reasons.

To this end, we have decided to use just our first names on the invitations but I am now uncertain how to deal with the announcement. I would like do the official announcement but would it sound strange to just say "Please welcome our newly married couple, Boy_Firstname and Girl_Firstname" without any last names or any titles?

Do you think it would be too awkward for the guests or us to use Mr. boy first and last and Dr. girl first and last
I am torn and am not sure how best to handle the situation. Thanks for any input.

- hikerchick

Pandora II

Ideal_Rock
I think that sounds fine.

To be honest, people tend to start clapping straight away so they probably wouldn''t even notice you didn''t have a surname in there.

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock
I think it''s fine to just do first names. I don''t think people will notice at the reception at all. I wouldn''t notice...

nytemist

Brilliant_Rock